A Timeout

I’m so exhausted.

I know, it’s been barely two months and I’m already complaining. Lol. And funny how I always choose to do a blogpost whenever I don’t have much time on my hands.

Anyways, it isn’t really the work that tires me, but people. I don’t really mind working late hours if it’s with great people in a great environment. I have been blessed for the first few weeks in terms of that. This current job though… well let’s just say it exhausts me. And I can’t wait for a break. #whinybrat

I find so much comfort in being able to go to church. Not trying to sound too #spiro, I just like the environment and tender loving care given. Hahaha. Perks of being a newcomer. Of course, having the church being gospel-centered is central to pointing to true joy.

Last Sunday I was greeted by a view of disabled people seated in front, and there usually aren’t so many of them and it grabbed my attention. A sight of a lady with an oxygen tank/bag caught my eyes. Has she always been here? I wonder. During baptism, a lady who suffers from what seemed like a motor neurone disease was wheeled to the front and gave a slurred yet confident declaration of her faith, and I wondered about how I’m so enabled to love Him with my hands and feet and yet my faith is but a mustard seed. 10 minutes into the service two chairs were pulled up next to me and a pair of elderly couple sat in them. The old uncle asked me if I was new, and I replied that I have been attending for a few weeks now. He smiled a very tender, grandfather-ish smile that made my heart warm. He introduced me to those in front of us during the short mingling and even motioned for me to go meet more. He then introduced his wife to me, who has “a little bit of dementia”, according to him as he said it with sad smile. When it was announcement time the Reverend came to speak and the uncle whispered to me “that’s my son” with a proud face and I could see clearly how his son resembled him and his wife. After the service he asked if I was joining lunch to which I couldn’t, and he said “will I see you next week then?”, to which I immediately affirmed  with a smile. I left with his warm smile lingering in my mind as I thought of my grandfather.

I thank God for encounters like this. 

Author: vanessachengxq

An awkward twenty-something redeemed by grace.

Leave a Reply

