Word.

Finally, a ‘that’s for another blog post’ promise that I get to fulfill. I  previously posted in ‘The Stale Introvert‘ that I would explain my love language in another post, so here it is – and it will probably be a lengthy one so move along if you’re a tldr; person.

So. My love language used to be surely either physical touch or quality time, but (as much as I didn’t want to admit it), words of affirmation is climbing to the top, especially of late. Why is this important to you, you ask? Well, if you’re a friend, do me a favour and don’t say mean things to me… unless I said mean things to you and you want revenge, that would be understandable. And I’m sorry if I did, know that I didn’t mean them. Truly.

The reason I didn’t really want to admit it, is because I used to think people with words of affirmation as their love language are such sensitive people. I thought, why let mere words affect you so much? They are just things people say, most of the time without going through their heads, even. I was wrong to judge, I know. I used to want to be so tough. In reality, words affected me so much I would cry if someone scolded me when I was a child. I would go out of my way to avoid being scolded by being the most obedient child and student I could be. It also explains why I have cringe attacks all the time. My words would come back to haunt me.

As I grew up and found comfort in reading and writing, I realised words are more than just a form of communication. They affect more than what you see on the surface, and they dwell in the heart, some longer than others. Even God reveal Himself most tangibly (aside from Jesus’ actual presence on earth) in the form of words, and gave us the Bible. John 1:1, “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.”  The Word – was God.

This is why words are so important. They have the power to (and they are supposed to) stir up, to move, to penetrate, and to change the heart and mind, even if one claims to dislike reading. Everyone has, at some point, been affected by what people say, even when they don’t realise it. So this is a public service announcement (and a reminder to myself), to please think before you speak, and consider the consequences of your words. They have the ability to encourage, to water the soul; at the same time, they can discourage and kill whatever’s left in someone. You don’t want to be a murderer. I’m joking, but not really.

They say the pen is mightier than the sword. I hope I will wield this weapon well.

PS: I love letters. I have only received a couple, but they were the sweetest. I hope I did my replies justice.

PPS: My left wrist was scarred by a love letter mould. As in, the kuih kapit mould. Irrelevant to the post, sorry. Carry on.

 

 

Author: vanessachengxq

Redeemed by grace.

Leave a comment